Johannes Ostermeier wins 1st Major Championship!

In the history of competitive pinball, very few (29 in fact) have had the chance to call themselves a Major Champion. Like professional golf or tennis, the opportunity to join this elite club only happens four times a year. The IFPA16 World Championship brought together one finalist looking to add their name to this list (Johannes Ostermeier) and one finalist looking to add to their already established legacy (Daniele Acciari – 4-time World Champion).

Following an epic match that went the distance, it was Johannes Ostermeier who became the latest player to be crowned World Champion, and the 30th player in competitive pinball history to win a Major Championship.

With his victory Johannes earned himself 125.46 WPPR points, moving himself up to the 2nd ranked player in the world.

With his 2nd place finish, Daniele Acciari reached his 11th top 4 finish in Major Championships (5th of all time). Peter Andersen from Denmark became the 89th player in history to finish top 4 at a Major Championship with his 3rd place finish. 4th place went to Raymond Davidson who earned his 6th top 4 finish in Major Championships (tied for 9th all time).

To view the most current list of Major Championship stats, click HERE.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *